Happy Hump Day

It is hard to believe yet another week is half over and that in two days from now it will be April.. EEEEEEK! This is both super exciting as it means Boston is just around the corner (which leads to my trips to NYC  and home as well as a big move to Toronto!).. but at the same time it also means I  am almost done undergrad and I am going to be leaving the comfort of a student lifestyle …Double EEEEEK! Winking smile

Focusing on the amazingness that is the present, I started this hump day off nice and early with a bowl of steel cut oats with a banana, chia and flax

DSC04829

I was a little sleepy and slow moving this morning thanks to a rather busy Tuesday which consisted of a Yasso 800’s workout by day, and the Brock Athletic Banquet as well as my running buddy Meg’s Boston fundraiser at night. It was a fabulous day all around and despite the snow on the track (lets get it together Mother nature, it’s almost April!) my workout was great (9 reps at under 3:10 per set) and the evenings festivities were a blast. I even went so far as carting my camera to the track to snap some pics of our workout but of course, upon arrival I realized the battery was dead! Fail.. 

  SPMA Love and Brock XC

DSC04824

DSC04815

 

Today I packed a standard issue salad beast and gala apple for lunch and spent the day at school before coming home to inhale a smoothie in a bowl heading out the door to run club.. final hill night!DSC04830

DSC04831

I must say I am officially SO glad that I have gotten involved with the Running Room in St Catharines and the ladies and gents in the spring half marathon clinic are all amazing.Without really anticipating such, the clinic has turned out to play a crucial role in my Boston training efforts and running experiences this winter. Yay for clinic leading!

After hammering out our 6 rep hill workout I scooted down Glenridge to Johnny Roccos where I met up with a group of friends celebrating the lovely Megan’s 22nd Birthday. Due to arriving late, the only eating I took part in was a random sampling of everyone’s dishes, which were all very tasty. When I arrived home I quickly whirled together an egg scramble with asparagus, spinach, onion, beans, hot peppers and a sprinkle of Swiss cheese.. and inhaled it with little breathing!

DSC04832

Well, its off to hit the hay for this girl but I will leave you with some information on a fabulous upcoming running event being put on by my 4th year leadership class.

184763_10150105469598076_501813075_6298245_3940014_n

If you are close to the Niagara region and have yet to sign up for the 2011 Brendan Ford Run for Success happening on April 10th at the Welland Canal then you are missing out!

Check out the event website at www.runforsuccess.com

GOOD NIGHT!

Are YOU running the Brendan Ford Run for Success? If so, share with us your goal time and what you’re looking forward to most about race day!

“What the mind believes the body achieves”

Anonymous Babe Patroller

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Hump Day

  1. Daniela

    Hi Alyson,
    So nice to read your new blogs!!
    Just wanted to let you know that you are such an inspiration and motivating factor to all of us in the clinic!
    I’ve said it before and will say it again, You are my god sent!!

Leave a Reply

