Livestrong

Today was one of those days that made me truly thankful to be alive.

In my corporate social responsibility class at Brock University, we were fortunate enough to have a guest speaker from Lance Armstrong’s 2006 Journey to Hope. She was a fabulous presenter who not only has run the Boston marathon (and got proposed to at the finish line!) but fought cancer while being pregnant with her daughter and is living proof of the undying human spirit.

ls

Personally, I found her stories especially intriguing due to her running background and today Mary’s presentation ignited a fire in me that has been smoking for a while now… I want to run a marathon for a charity!

Now, yes I know my Boston taper is a week away and I’ve sworn off any post Boston running commitments in fear of my running desire being left behind on Heartbreak Hill, but I cant help but feel being in class today was one of those star aligning, right place at the right time situations. And that my friends is why it was only a matter of hours before I received this message in my inbox…

Dear Alyson,

Thank you for applying to fundraise on behalf of the LAF in one of our Team LIVESTRONG endurance events! We have received your application and will be reviewing all submissions in the coming days. Once we have chosen the recipients of our guaranteed spots, we will notify you right away.

ING NYC Marathon – November 6, 2011
New York, New York
Join us and run through the five famous boroughs of NYC, crossing the finish line in Central park. Skip the lottery and fundraise with Team LIVESTRONG to gain entry to the most popular marathon in the world. With two million cheering spectators, this is a race you’ll never forget.

2011 New York Marathon for Team Livestrong? We shall see Smile Babe Patrol.. report to duty!?

Anyways, back to reality! This morning started with a delicious Sun Warrior smoothie -Yes in my blogging hiatus I have officially joined the Sun Warrior train a la Fitnessista and Mama Pea.

DSC04807

Lunch was taken care of by the salad bar at Brock’s marketplace – although no WF, it is a great deal for $4.19 and does the trick on days like today when my sad fridge is in need of a trip to the St. Catharines Farmers Market.. Thank goodness that’s what Tuesdays are for!

For dinner, I whipped up some roasted beets (with my new oil from Whitty Farms) and a canned salmon, egg and bean scramble in a sprouted grain tortilla.

DSC04808

And a juicy grapefruit for dessert… summer please come fast!

DSC04809

Today being a Monday after a 50+km weekend, means it has been a total rest day for me. Tomorrow morning I will be up bright and early to get in a date with the beloved Yasso 800’s at the West Park track along with my buddies Cass and Kyler. I am up to 9 repeats and this will be my second to last track workout before the race on April 18th.

Tomorrow evening is our Brock Athletic Banquet as well as my awesome co-instructor Meg’s Boston fundraiser so I’m sure much fun is going to be had!

Have a fabulous Tuesday!

Have you ever been involved in any charity based running events? I would love to hear any stories, input or future advice!

PS: for a more detailed overview of our guest speaker today see my fellow SPMA’s awesome blog: www.thefreshtrain.com

You live longer once you realize that any time spent being unhappy is wasted. 

~Ruth E. Renkl

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

