Power Hour

Gooood Afternoon!

I hope everyone is enjoying the lovely weather, be it snow on the best  West Coast or sunshine and warmth here in Onterrible!

Today started off with an early morning run before my 8 am class with my early bird running buddy Aless. Due to a few alarm sleep throughs and mid week drinking late nights studying, we haven’t had a morning rendezvous in a few days, so today was extra lovely!

Stats:

Distance: 10.16km   Time: 57:58   Avg: 5:42/km

During our run Aless and I got chatting about goals and how we are going to approach the months ahead. My plan for the month of November has been to keep running to maintain a base, but as you can tell by my easy paced runs as of late, there are no real training efforts being put fourth. I have enjoyed the break and it has allowed me to focus on getting to more classes for experience towards Can Fit as well as the relaxed schedule has let me hop back on the yoga train (which I will be discussing this week!) . However, as November is almost over (how is this possible!) and as much as I have enjoyed rolling out of a bed and running easy in the morning, it is time to start thinking about picking it up and giving some direction to my early morning workouts. Perhaps I may be hearing from a certain Western States lottery entrant soon with a template/advice for a Boston training schedule!

Anyhow, back to today and the title of this post .. POWER HOUR!

In attempt to be productive this week, I allotted myself an hour this morning to prepare some healthy food options for the week ahead. I am the worst for lollygagging in the morning resulting in an overflowing pot of half cooked steel cut oats, or spending an hour slowly preparing and cooking dinner at night when really I should be working on my thesis lit review ( food > ambush marketing!). I am happy to report that the first instillation of POWER HOUR was a success!

DSC04573

In less than one hour I prepared the following:

Slow Cooker Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

(from The Fitnessista)

DSC04565

DSC04566

Homemade Hummus

DSC04568

DSC04569

Steel Cut Oats (Enough for the whole week)

DSC04562

And I also had this fabulous salad bowl and yellow fruit salad for lunch..

DSC04572

DSC04574 

Wahoo!

Now, continuing with the theme of POWER HOUR, I best be going to be productive on other non running and eating related fronts.. unexciting I know!

Have an amazing day!

What is your worst procrastination habit and what do you do to overcome it?

“If you love life, don’t waste time, for time is what life is made up of.” – Bruce Lee

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Power Hour

  1. Hey Girlfriend!

    Keep dreaming about Boston for now and working on your wicked awesome vegan clam chowdah recipes. This is your downtime between XC season and your marathon preparation, so just keep getting in your base mileage, stay healthy and don’t worry about doing any hard workouts unless you really feel the need to shake your legs out. There will be plenty of time for the hard stuff in the new year.

    Dave

  2. Wow, look at all those homemade goodies 🙂

Leave a Reply

