Toooooo Much Coffee and Do Crickets Climb Stairs!?

Good Morning!

It is another sunny day here in Southern Onterrible too bad the morning is almost over (okay not quite its only 11:00.. :P) however, I just managed to scrape myself out of bed an hour or so ago.. Last night was not a fun one, let me tell you!

images+12074334301539946785jonata_Cricket_svg_med= sleep-cartoon

TOOOO much coffee! Yes, my lovely coffee addicted drinking Babes you will be so proud of my now coffee drinking ways. However, as a result of a crazy day yesterday that involved staying at school much longer than excepted, I had not one but two cups of my new best friend.. Who as it turns out was really my worst enemy yesterday as I discovered when I was lying awake staring at the crack in my light fixture at 3:00am. To make matters worse, my bedroom is now home to the world’s loudest and most annoying cricket! Seriously, Jimmy is living in my room and despite numerous attempts to find and dare I say KILL him, he could not be found. I think I fell asleep around 4 am.. so when my alarm starting singing at 7 there was no way I was getting this rear end out of bed!

However, like most things my coffee induced, cricket related shenanigans were quickly forgotten after a lovely breakfast smoothie which I drank so fast I forgot to take a  picture.. ooops!

It contained:

3/4 c. water

1/2 c. almond milk

1/2 c. frozen raspberries

1/2 c. frozen peaches

1 frozen bananer

1/2 scoop Vega Smoothie Infusion (my bag is almost empty, dos anyone have any new suggestions!?)

1 T chia seeds

1 T ground flax

My schedule for the rest of this beautiful day is to walk up in the fall prettiness to school for a couple classes starting at 1:00 and then meet up with the XC girls for our weekly track workout. Dare I say it but I am actually starting to enjoy track workouts! I usually spend the whole time laughing at myself but my the end I’ve got a good sweat on and enjoy the challenge. I hope tonight’s is no different…

And last but not least I want to share with you the recipe from last night’s kitchen rendezvous… An attempt at making my own version of Mary’s Crackers. If you have never had these crackers honestly you MUST should go track down a box. They will set you back almost 5 dollars in Canada (ouch, I know!) but they are amazing and so authentically healthy tasting. The downfall to them is however, if you are a cracker lover like myself the entire box usually somehow disappears within 48 hours.. Booo 😦

Taking some wise wisdom from one of my favourite bloggers when it comes to awesome recipes, Angela at Oh She Glows, I utilized my somewhat rare non booked up night and got “cracking” on a cheaper cracker that would hopefully hold up to Mary..

I used Angela’s recipe for her Gluten Free and Vegan Crackers but made a few minor adjustments including adding only pumpkin and chia seeds and used tex mex spice instead of dill..

The result, they turned out great, definitely not as good as Mary’s but a tasty, cheaper alternative. I would like to find a way to make them a little more crispy verses chewy next time. I also really need to work on my inability to keep crackers around for long as not even 24 hors have passed and this batch has a serious dent already.. and I can’t even put the blame on Mary!

The stars of the show…

DSC04445

DSC04446

Into the baby Cusinart they went..

DSC04447    

Blended all together now..

DSC04448

Flattened out and sliced with the pizza cutter..

DSC04449

After being baked for about 40 minutes at 300 degrees..

Has anyone ever made homemade crackers? Ideas for help with “crisping” them up?

I best be off to enjoy the sunshine and do the student thing.. I hope you all have a wonderful hump day 🙂

And a rather cliché, but always relevant parting thought for the day..

Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.  ~Winston Churchill

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Toooooo Much Coffee and Do Crickets Climb Stairs!?

  1. psot your track workout pllllllllease
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

