Thank You Vancouver…

For the greatest, fastest, most challenging yet fun-filled, eventful and enjoyable 8 months of my life 🙂

I will miss you from your endless running adventure opportunities, beautiful mountains, amazing eating spots and friendly locals right down to your frustrating drivers, slow transit system and rainy race day weather… I love you and I promise I’ll be back someday soon.

Although the past eight months have felt like 2 weeks, I have had some amazing once in a lifetime opportunities that looking back upon, I am so very thankful for…

In January, February and March 2010 I got to experience first hand the power of the Olympic Movement in Canada as an intern with the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games…

In May 2010 I completed my first marathon with the greatest group of once running friends ( and now life long friends!) anyone could ask for..

And from that moment on I officially gave up the high tops and hardwood for Mizunos, the Sea Wall and “Babe Patrol” status .. completing hundreds of happy, angry, frustrated, blissful and unforgettable kilometers in training and races in the following four months.. including:

BMO Vancouver Marathon

Vancouver Sun Run – 10km

UBC Longest Day 10km

Scotiabank Half Marathon

Splash and Dash 10 km – New York

Summerslow 10km

Five Peaks Trail March – Whistler

It is insane to think about how fast the time has gone, and although it makes me very sad to leave such great memories and great people behind, I know its time for me to head back to the depths of Southern Ontario where my other rather fantastic life awaits…

I am off to spend the fall, winter and spring completing my 4th year Sport Managment studies at Brock University and will graduate with an Honours Degree in July 2011.

I am also planning on running my 2nd marathon this fall as well as the 2011 Boston Marathon on April 18, 2011.

To my fellow BP members:

Amelia teacher and speedster in China…

 Andrea, our dedicated breadwinner in Vancouver…

The veggie powered foodie Dr. Reardon in Vancouver perhaps Halifax …

and Evy the skort rockin, always thoughtful driver extraordinaire..

I… the clutsy baby of your group will always remember the summer we shared and our amazing running adventures in Vancouver 🙂 I don’t think I will find another group of amazing and inspiring ladies who will run, eat and talk with me the way you do! Heres to Babe Patrol 2010 staying strong from coast to coast! ( and into China.. haha)

In parting.. here are the top eight  things (simply stated!) I have learned during my 8 month stint in the greatest city on Earth.. and will take away with me into the next chapter of my life.

In no particular order..

1. The early bird gets the worm

2. When the going gets tough, the tough get going

3. You are stronger, faster and smarter than you think you are

4. Networking is everything. Success in any business environment  is about who you know and what they think about you

5. Rest days are essential to life

6. The pursuit of happiness is the source of all unhappiness

7. The most underrated key to enjoying life is enjoying your day job. I have discovered that much of the population does not enjoy what they do for income, and this is why there are so many butter, unhappy and grumpy people on the street

8. You are the ruler of your own empire.. make it bountiful! 🙂

So long Vancouver.. see you in St Kitts 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Thank You Vancouver…

  1. I love this post!!! I miss you. Meet me in Kits next summer?
    xoxoxo

  2. ALYSON! this was such a beautiful post, it brought a tear to my eye. we are going to miss you so so so much!

  3. Thank-you Aly for a summer filled with running adventures and a chance to relive my early 20s vicariously through you 😉

    Love your top 8 list!

    Hopefully we can reunite in October for a run out east. If not, I know you’ll be back!!

  4. Evelyn

    so young but so wise. your post brings tears to my eyes. thank you alycat for all the good times. you are an amazing girl with so many wonderful and great things ahead. have a fantastic final year at brock and we’ll see you real soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

