Yoga Bender — Day 5

Hey Hey Hey Hey..

The greatest part of starting work at 4:30 am is being finished by noon! Today was another early morning at the gym and started out on foot in the darkness. The more I am getting used to these super early morning runs, the more I am liking them.. however I think the more I am liking them the slower they are becoming.. Boo!

Evidence of this materialized last night when I got myself up from my mid afternoon nap ( yes, unproductive I know but a necessity when you work soo early!) and hit the sea wall with the turbo Amelia.. I had already done a lunch time bootcamp class with Dolores and a yoga class so my legs (and sleepy brain) were definetly not up for more excercise.. however that’s what they got! I manged to shuffle run along behind Amelia for approx 6km.. and then we lollygagged home which was lovely ( and ran into biker girl Andrea en route!). Once I got home I played the mean parent role on myself  and had a turbo shower ( no time for contrasts!) and hopped straight into bed so I would not be a total zombie today.. Mission sorta accomplished… I am still feeling part zombie!

Yesterday’s workout summary:  5km to work, Corporate Crunch ( 50 min), Power Yoga ( 45min) and 6km “Tempo” run

Today at work was rather slow, and I was lucky enough to squeeze into Alina’s 7:35 am flow yoga class… This marks the 5 day point of my current “yoga bender”! I decided at the beginning of the week that I need to get in as much yoga, bootcamps, step classes etc as possible while I am still working at the gym. As I mentioned before I made myself a goal of attending 15 yoga classes before I leave on August 31st, and since then I haven’t missed a day. I am enjoying it for the most part, especially Andrew’s ( cute, turbo zen, yoga boy!) classes and I am excited to see if I will experience any major changes in my body, mind, soul, runningness etc etc in the next month.. we shall see 😉

When I got home from work I viciously inhaled ate this delicious lunch..

A smoothie with : 1 c. almond milk, frozen rasp and blubies, 1/2 a bananer, 1tbs ground lfax, 1 scoop Vega Smoothie Infusion, 1tsp chia seeds and  splash of hemp oil.. topped off with a big blob of cinnamon-raisin buckwheat granola ( really just the bitties at the bottom of the bag because I have demolished the rest!)

Edamame with salt and a brown rice cake with peanut butter, dates and the other half of my nanaer.. YUM YUM!

Anyhow, I best be having a power nap heading quick as I am currently awaiting the arrival of my lovely friend Jordan from the CV who is coming to play with me for the next couple days! I am going to play hooky from the RR tonight and head up to do the Grouse Grind with her instead. I have yet to do the Grind this summer and am looking forward to seeing how it goes. After the Grind we are going to go check out The Naam, a well known and apparently delicious vegetarian restaurant in Kits that I have had on my Vancouver bucket list for months! I am hoping some wine will also be in order 🙂

Up again for work tomorrow at 3:30am, then day with Jordo and evening on the hills with RR Clinic..

For those of you who follow Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point ( and those of you who don’t should start) you are aware that today is the launch of the Operation Beautiful book and Caitlin made her public debut on the Today Show this morning ( I don’t think we got it in Canada.. booo!). Healthy Tipping Point was one of the very first blogs I ever came across, and now it is on the top of my daily blog checking list! Although I have never met the girl, she is an excellent writer, has great recipes and workout reports and seems  very sweet and down to earth! I think it’s so awesome that she is having so much success with her book. Good luck Caitlin, and I can’t wait to get myself a copy of Operation Beautiful when it comes to the great white north in a few weeks!

Enjoy your hump day night 🙂

Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can.  ~Danny Kaye

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Yoga Bender — Day 5

  1. You are lucky you’re missing run club- same route as last night. Have fun at the Grind! And I think Caitlin is on tomorrow morning!

  2. I love bumping into you!! And thanks for calling me a biker.

    You are crazy exercise girl these days. Good job 🙂

    See you Friday!!

Leave a Reply

